Afterglow Physician Directed Medical Aesthetics | CALL TO SCHEDULE: (604) 980-3993

Request a Consultation

Tell us what you are interested in, then how to contact you. We will get back to you right away!

First Visit | Frequently Asked Questions | Afterglow Skin Care Clinic North Vancouver

Women of Distinction Award, Dr. Shehla Ebrahim

HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Dr. Shehla Ebrahim for her Women of Distinction Award nomination in the Entrepreneurship category!


The awards, which honour individuals and organizations whose work contributes to the well-being and the future of the community, have been presented since 1984.

This year’s winners will be announced June 3 at an awards dinner at the Westin Bayshore Hotel.


Vancouver Sun Press Release

YWCA releases 2014 Women of Distinction Award nominees


Women of distinction Newly relected premier Christy Clark spoke at last year’s YMCA’s Women of Distinction awards in Vancouver on May 28, 2013.

Photograph by: Mark van Manen

VANCOUVER – The YWCA has released the names of its nominees for the 2014 Women of Distinction Awards.

The awards, which honour individuals and organizations whose work contributes to the well-being and the future of the community, have been presented since 1984.

This year’s winners will be announced June 3 at an awards dinner at the Westin Bayshore Hotel.

For ticket information, go here.

This year’s nominees are:

Arts, Culture & Design

Shaira (SD) Holman – Co-Founder & Artistic Director, Queer Arts Festival

Susan Van der Flier – Board Director, Vancouver Opera

Business & the Professions

Sheila Bouman – Chief People & Performance Officer, Peer 1 Hosting

Mary Buttery – Partner, Davis LLP

Sheila Eddin – Vice President, Transformation, ICBC

Catherine Gibson – Partner, Davis LLP

Carmen Thériault – Partner, Wealth Preservation, Bull, Housser & Tupper LLP

Lisa Vogt – Partner & Chief Diversity and Engagement Officer, McCarthy Tetrault LLP

Community Building

Shashi Assanand – Founder & Executive Director, Vancouver & Lower Mainland Multicultural Family Support Services Society (VLMFSS)

Leigh Boyle – Founder & Executive Director, The Lipstick Project Society

Loretta Cella – Founder & Executive Director, Passion Foundation

Nassreen Filsoof – Founder & President, Canadian Iranian Foundation

Theodora Lamb – Online Community Organizer & Executive Producer, Hollyhock Leadership Institute

Jill Leversage – Managing Director, Highland West Capital Ltd.

Jennifer Schaeffers – Executive Director, CKNW Orphans’ Fund

Education, Training & Development

Kristi Blakeway – Vice Principal, Thomas Haney Secondary

Deborah Jacobs – Education Department Head, Squamish Nation

Gail Ruddy – Head of School, York House School

Janis Sarra – Professor, UBC Faculty of Law & Director, The Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies


Almira Bardai – Partner, Jive Communications

Justine Bizzocchi – Founder, SFU Venture Connection

Alisa Choi Darcy – President, Quote EndQuote Cross-Cultural Strategy Inc.

Shehla Ebrahim – Doctor, Ambleside Dermedics

Liza Hagusa – Founder & Owner, Mother Me Newborn Care Inc.

Deanna Loychuk – Founder, 30 Minute Hit

Carolyn Lundie – Founder & Owner, YogaButtons Kids Yoga Ltd.

Kim Pickett – Founder & Creative Director, KIMBO Design Inc.

Reisa Pollard – Founder & Designer, Beyond Beige Interior Design

Shannon Rogers – President & General Counsel, Global Relay

Environmental Sustainability

Diana Allen – Professor, Department of Earth Sciences, SFU

Sofi Hindmarch – Wildlife Biologist, British Columbia Conservation Foundation

Lyda Salatian – Founder & Program Director, The Lower Mainland Green Team (LMGT)

Elizabeth Sheehan – Founder & President, Climate Smart


Health & Wellness

Victoria Bernstein – Director, Post-Operative Cardiac Surgical Unit, Vancouver General Hospital

Nafisa Merali – Founder, Naz Wellness Group Inc.

Gina Ogilvie – Medical Director, Clinical Prevention Services, British Columbia Centre for Disease Control

Charlene SanJenko – Founder, PowHERhouse

Sarah Shandl – Founder, Vancouver, We Love You Great Adventure Club

Elizabeth Watt – Physician, Board Secretary, Abbotsford Community Services


Non-Profit & Public Service

Lana Bradshaw – Vice Chair, Children’s Wish BC & Yukon Chapter

Pauline Finn – Vice President, Community Engagement, Science World British Columbia

Anita Huberman – CEO, Surrey Board of Trade

Judy Krawchuk – Vice President, Child Development Foundation of British Columbia

Darlene Marzari – Former MLA and Vancouver City Councillor

Heather O’Hara – Executive Director, Potluck Café Society

Anar Popatia – President, Canadian Club of Vancouver

Linda Reid – MLA, Speaker of the House, Government of the Province of British Columbia

Shauna Sylvester – Executive Director, SFU Public Square and Carbon Talks Fellow, SFU Centre for Dialogue

Carolyn Tuckwell – President and CEO, Boys and Girls Club of South Coast BC

Wai Young – Member of Parliament for Vancouver South


Technology, Science & Research

Jennifer Gardy – Senior Scientist, British Columbia Centre for Disease Control

Caron Strahlendorf – Pediatric Oncologist/Hematologist, Clinical Associate Professor, BC Children’s Hospital


Young Woman of Distinction

Cicely Blain – Founder, Celebrating Women at UBC

Vuitton Chan – Student, SFU

Isabel Chen – Co-Founder & Executive Director, Keep Safe Initiative

Madison McDougall – Co-Founder, Sunday Funday

Hayley Pipher – Founder, Vancouver Youth Food Alliance

Tesicca Truong – Member of Engaged City Task Force

Innovative Workplace

Flipside Creative

Pacific Blue Cross


© Copyright (c) The Vancouver Sun

Read more:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

type characters to search...